jacattack

True Life: I’m a People Watcher

Posted on: April 16, 2010

Yesterday, I met Earl.  He’s a laid-off construction worker (until the weather warms up) in his mid forties, divorced, with two children around college age with whom he is very close.

I also met Susan.  She’s in her thirties and has three kids in elementary school.  She the president of the PTA, and happily married for about 10 years to her college sweetheart.  

Okay, so I really didn’t meet these people.  But yesterday, my car was in the shop and I spend about three hours in the waiting room at the repair shop waiting for new tie rods (?) and I could only take so much of Kathie Lee and Hoda AND the crazy briefcase game!

I’m a people watcher.  I like to sit in the mall and watch people go about their day.  When I’m in a waiting room, I watch people and make up stories.  I blame this on my father.  We vacationed at Myrtle Beach, SC every year during my childhood.  And every year, he brought the binoculars to people watch outside the folks walking the beach.  I would join in, and make up stories about the people we see.

When I tell people about my crazy habit, I get mixed reactions.  My coworker, Kate (thanks for reading, by the way) agrees with me.  She even makes stories up about couples she sees and understands where I’m coming from.  The boyfriend thinks I’m a weirdo… but he almost always thinks that.

Is anyone else out there a self-proclaimed people watcher?

3 Responses to "True Life: I’m a People Watcher"

i love watching people. I sometimes wonder if I should have gone into behavorial studies. It so interesting. You kinda wonder what makes people tick and what makes them do the things they do.

I can’t say that I ever made up stories about people, but I do like to watch them.

I’m not creative enough to make up the stories to go with each person, but I love to people watch…probably my favorite activity. You can learn so much about people in general. I have seen and heard some interesting things. Good, bad or indifferent, it is all interesting to me.

I’m such a people watcher. To the point where I drift off in conversations because my head is spinning around watching. Just curious to keep an eye on things. Stories? Hell no. Not creative enough to do so.

Leave a Reply

  • Jen: Omg...I never saw that article...that guy IS a scumbag. I hate reading stuff like that, it makes me sick. I'm glad his brother found a good home with
  • Kim @ Don't Kid Yourself: Wow that guy really is such a scumbag- that stuff disgusts me. Glad to hear the dog found a good home. Seems like she fits in great! The video is too
  • lose weight expert: very good art:)

Categories

