jacattack

I’m silly

Posted on: June 2, 2010

It seems as if I’ve blamed family members in the last 3 or so blog posts for random, silly quirks I have acquired.  Might as well keep going.

Thanks to my sister, I’ve got the bug.

The Silly Bandz bug.

My current collection... mostly of dinosaurs and zoo animals

Laurie came to visit me at work this past Friday, informing me that she purchased two 24-packs of these crazy gum bands at the Crossgates Hallmark.  After brushing aside the initial big sister reaction (“weirdo, I’m telling Mom”… kidding, kinda), she let me pick two to wear for myself.  I got SO EXCITED at the choices!!  I could pick between hearts, stars, sunshines, dollar signs, dog bones, and girl symbols.  I picked the heart and the girl symbol… because I love being a girl?  Immediately, I was hooked.

That Sunday, I was on a Silly Bandz mission!  Hallmark in EGB was out of stock.  I found a huge supply at Olympia Sports later on, and purchased dinosaurs and zoo animals and left the store feeling like a giddy ten-year old… probably because I had just stooped to that level after buying two packs of stretchy bands to wear and show off to my friends.

My current favorite... the T-rex!!!!

Actually, I’ve never even heard of these until I heard they were being banned in local schools just last week.  This story reminded me of slap bracelets.  They were banned from schools when I was in first grade (early 90s) due to them being a distraction in class.  Then I remembered POGs in fourth grade (mid-90s).  Since they were being stolen and kids cried when they lost the silly little cardboard discs in tournaments (suckaaaaas!), they were also banned.  Tamagotchies (sp?) and Beanie Babies came along in the late 90s, but I don’t remember them ever being banned in school.

I’m curious as to what big trend my own kids will follow one day… and I will have to go on a wild goose chase for.

Which trend did you catch onto back in elementary school?  Was it ever banned in school?

2 Responses to "I’m silly"

i’m wearing my heart today! i’d say sorry for gettin’ ya hooked, but i’m not!

Slap bracelets! But they were banned in my school because people were actually getting hurt with them.

Other than that, I wasn’t into much that everyone else was…Babysitter Club books and a Troll doll was about it. I was more into Art/Craft stuff and spent my pocket money on that.

Leave a Reply

  • Jen: Omg...I never saw that article...that guy IS a scumbag. I hate reading stuff like that, it makes me sick. I'm glad his brother found a good home with
  • Kim @ Don't Kid Yourself: Wow that guy really is such a scumbag- that stuff disgusts me. Glad to hear the dog found a good home. Seems like she fits in great! The video is too
  • lose weight expert: very good art:)

Categories

